Family Reunion

the only thing missing is TROY LEISHMAN –the other love of my life.

So here is the skinny: I had Saturday off. Liz was giving a talk in church on Sunday. Andrew was willing to drop everything and come with me. Liz and Rocklyn are worth driving 8 hours on friday to spend Saturday with and then drive 8 hours home on Sunday. The end. It’s a lovely story. Actually… it’s a love story. President Harold B. Lee taught that “the most important of the Lord’s work you will ever do will be within the walls of your own homes.” In this family our home is located in our hearts. That is where we live and where we love. Anytime we can close the gap of physical distance that is what we do. December Liz and Rocky are coming to stay with me. January there will be fireball. To Colorado or bust!

Family Picture Rocklyn, Liz, Andrew and Nicole

When Andrew and I arrived in Longmont it was LATE. We read scriptures, said our prayers and then Liz and I talked poor little Andrew to sleep. 7am came fast. Liz and I dressed in black leggings, red tees and put our hair in side ponies. We had an 80s dance party with Rocklyn until we woke Andrew up at 9. “Girls….Girls….Girls….”

We got ready for our day and then headed out to Sandy’s farm. I want to live on a farm and have a house like Sandy’s. That is my happy place. We went to a toy store. Walked Pearl Street and had lunch. On the way the wee ones (Andrew and Rocklyn) slept. We went to dinner that night with Leslie, Sandy and Alexander. After Rocky went to bed that night we played music for a few hours and Liz wrote her talk. We stayed up until 3 ish in the morning talking and being goofy. Lots of fart and poop stories. Liz was almost dropped down the “laundry s***,” I was smacked in the mouth and Andrew could have died in a fire. Pretty much we had the best time ever:) On Sunday Andrew made us breakfast and we went to church where Liz gave a beautiful talk on gratitude. oh. And Rocklyn peed on Andrew!!

But alas, it was time for us to head back to Provo. In Colorado we took a little shortcut on a gravel road. Before we entered Owl Canyon we stopped at a little gas station for a bathroom break. The Land was so beautiful we had to take a picture. There was a road that looked so inviting but it was in the opposite direction of where we needed to go. Andrew, in what I like to think in his desire to please me and make me happy, said that we could travel down it for 10 minutes before we headed on our way again. When we detoured on our little adventure we discovered a little park. Andrew took a little dip in the river. haha. But it was so great and relaxing!

We found cows

The trip was great. And just what we all needed. Thank you Heavenly Father for these beautiful people in my life. Please can we all be best friends forever?

LIZ, You are a wonderful friend. Thank you for letting me come to visit you and your daughter. You are an amazing parent and the perfect example of what intentional parenting is. I hope one day I can be as good as a mother as you are. Thank you for being patient with me. For listening to my same sob stories over and over and always validating my feelings. Thank you for creating a space for me to let my guard down. Our 80s dance party was one of my favorite! What can I say… girls just want to have fun! My life is fuller with you and Rocklyn in it.

Andrew, You are a wonderful friend and a great man. I feel very blessed to not only know you but to have you as a best friend, as family. Thank you for continuing to put up with me and my crazy. Thank you for being a safe place for me to fall, to make mistakes, to share my secrets and express what is really going on inside this head and heart of mine. I think you are one of the smartest people I know. You have a big heart. I believe in you. P.s. You do have daddy fingers;)

Rocklyn, You are a wonderful friend. You love everyone and do not judge. What an example you are to the world of what acceptance and friendship really mean. You know how to have a good time. I always have so much fun when I am around you. I know I can tell you anything. Thank you for loving me, remembering me, and praying for me. I know Heavenly Father has big plans for you. I am excited to watch them unfold. I miss you and will see you again soon!

yours, yours and yours, nicole xoxo

About nicolemd

I am an ordianry girl living an ordinary life and learning to love it. This blog is part of my personal process of discovering myself, who I have always been, the divine in me. It is part of my commitment to returning. View all posts by nicolemd

Leave a Reply

